8:00 - 17:00
Opening Hour: Mon - Fri
In the United States, it’s customary that each state has its own minimum coverages for automotive insurance. These minimums insure that each driver on the road has at least some financial coverage in the case of an accident where they are found to be at fault.
Although there are exceptions in certain states, Texas requires a minimum of 30/60/25 coverage. Make sure you are getting the best rate with our free quote tool above!
Table of Contents
There are several different types of automotive insurance, providing for different occasions and types of accidents. In general, these different types can be explained as follows:
Usually, insurance policy minimums will be written in a set format which consists of the amount in thousands of dollars in the order of bodily damage or death for one person, multiple people, and property.
In Texas, for example, the minimums are
This is written as 30/60/25 coverage. Although it can be hard to get a handle on how insurance policies are written, they’re simple once you know that the minimums are always written in that order.
Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
In the state of Texas, drivers are also required to prove that they can be financially responsible for any fees that might result from an automotive accident. They are considered to have taken financial responsibility when a vehicle has been officially and legally registered in their name.
In most states, including Texas, drivers are no longer required to purchase insurance for vehicles that are inoperable.
They are, however, required to return their state-issued license plates to a DMV location to insure that the vehicle is not used. They can also submit their vehicle and title to the DMV for demolishing.
These laws are designed to insure that every vehicle on the road has someone who takes financial responsibility for any damages that result from its operation.
Being found in violation of these laws by driving without valid insurance is a misdemeanor, the first offense consisting of a fine between $175 and $350.
In subsequent offenses, these fines increase to between $350 and $1,000, and the driver can have their license and registration revoked until proof of insurance is provided to a local DMV.
Although state minimums are designed to make the roads safer and reduce financial risk to drivers, drivers who drive often or who have a history of accidents are recommended to purchase more coverage.
The bills resulting from all but minor accidents are usually higher than what minimum coverage offers the average driver, so most industry experts recommend at least $100,000 in coverage for each involved person and $300,000 for the accident as a whole.
Car insurance is offered from a variety of companies in each state, and drivers are recommended to find the plan that suits them every customer is different and has different needs, so don’t be afraid to spend time shopping around before you decide on coverage.
Don’t miss out on our free quote tool below! Just enter your ZIP code and start comparing quotes now!
Auto Insurance Laws